• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Jumpion

n3wb
Reaction score
1) I was wondering how you would protect the following setup against lightning:

The following devices are going to be connected to the PoE switch:
- one indoor camera
- two outdoor cameras (obviously more susceptible than the indoor camera)
- three PCs

The PoE switch is going to be connected to a power outlet that unfortunately doesn't have grounding, so only the line and neutral line are connected to the switch. (there is grounding available in our house, but I believe only in the bathroom and kitchen)

2) I was also wondering which devices would possibly be damaged by lightning if you set it up without any protection.

3) My last question is which type of cable is sufficient to the setup above. I'm doubting between cat 5e shielded vs unshielded.

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I would imagine anything connected to the switch is potentially at risk, but I’m still learning this.

I have two UniFi Poe switches that are connected to grounded outlets. I have nine cameras (using unshielded CAT6) connected directly to them (no patch panels or anything before them), and both switches appear to sense ESD on the cables when there is lightning in the area and will kill the power to the ports.

The other day, there was a lightning strike 7 miles away (according to the Weather Underground app), and the switches sensed it.

This is making me want to replace my lines with shielded cable/terminators...

@TonyR might have some better input!

Jumpion

n3wb
Reaction score
@aristobrat

Thanks for your great input.

After reading your experience, I think I'm going to purchase the shielded cat 5e version. Still remains is my grounding issue. I believe the shield has no effect if the PoE switch isn't grounded, right? So, I have to solve that problem first...