POE for illuminator

Beaglehome

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to this so please be gentle!

I am looking to install illuminators with some of the installed cameras and would like to power them via POE.

The NVR is a Hikvision DS-7616NI-12/16P and the datasheet doesn't specifically mention POE+ but quotes a maximum total 200W from the POE across all cameras and supports standard IEEE 802.3 af/at

The cameras concerned are 30-50 ft cable run and are POE. They are rated at 7w max and draw about 5w. The illuminator I have is rated at 18 watts.

This would give a total power of 23-25w per camera/illuminator combination.

After adding the illuminators to total power draw on the NVR would be only ~100 w - well short of the total rating

Questions...
1. Is it feasible to use POE to power this combination of cameral and illuminator?
2. If so, and advice?

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Technically speaking, PoE splitters are usually rated at two amps which means 24 watts. Experience has shown that two amp rating to be just a "tad" optimistic. I would suggest pulling a CMR rated 18/2 cable, 16/2 for longer runs, to supply power for an IR illuminator. No question that will work and work well.

Contadino

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm interested in this also. Could I use BlueIris to detect motion and then turn on a visible light floodlight that is on a separate POE wire? Could a NVR do this?

Beaglehome

n3wb
Reaction score
Technically speaking, PoE splitters are usually rated at two amps which means 24 watts. Experience has shown that two amp rating to be just a "tad" optimistic. I would suggest pulling a CMR rated 18/2 cable, 16/2 for longer runs, to supply power for an IR illuminator. No question that will work and work well.