Pass Through or Non Pass-Through RJ45 Connectors

Nancy Gray

n3wb
Reaction score
EDITED BY FENDERMAN: THIS IS A SPAMMER FOR VCELINK. DONT USE THEM. CANNOT BE TRUSTED

I'm a beginner to network installation and I have learned from the that there are various RJ45 connectors.

There are pass through and non pass-through RJ45 connectors on the market and I don't know which to buy for my CAT6 Ethernet cable.

This is a pass through RJ45 connector
and this is a standard RJ45 connector

Thank you so much if you can tell me about your ideas. :love:

Last edited by a moderator:

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
+1^^.
I still use non-passthru because there were not any passthru connectors 30 years ago so I got used to these and got pretty good at it, IMO, and learned some tricks along the way, got good yields, decent speed....not gonna fix something that ain't broke.

But like @OICU2 said, it's a personal preference once you've tried both.

That being said, if one is a beginner and must come up to speed quickly, pasthru might be the way to go...I probably would have started out with them if they had been around back in the day.

Regardless of which way you go, I recommend you purchase connectors with 3 point contacts made for solid or stranded conductor, such as these ==>>> CableCreation Cat6 RJ45 Ends, 50-Pack Cat6 Connector, Cat6 / Cat5e RJ45 Connector, Ethernet Cable Crimp Connectors UTP Network Plug for Solid Wire and Standard Cable, Transparent

They help insure a reliable connection on the solid (not stranded) pure copper (not CCA/Copper Clad Aluminum) cable you're going to use.:cool:

CableCreation_CAT6-strandorsolid.jpg

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score