Overwhelmed - You're the PRO, Pls Make Reco's

Swinsols

n3wb
Reaction score
Andy,

Saw you referenced quite a bit – newbie here. Picking up a server box to run BI later today and now need to pick a couple of cameras. I don’t really care if they are “International” or domestic consumption models so long as instructions and menus are in English.

We’ve had our cars vandalized twice (once on the parking pad, once on the street) and a couple of neighborhood burglaries. I’m assuming the perpetrators troll the neighborhood prior to picking a target, so I want to see the street (~160’ ft out) pretty well (make/model ID if possible) – lic plate grabber at the mailbox watching oncoming traffic (we

in the near future (we’re on a cul de sac), but not just yet.

Too many choices for me to sort through with any competence, all with NV, some with Mic, various resolutions, others with – well, I don’t even know… , so I thought I’d reach out to you.

Immediate needs (Red Zones):

I’m planning to start with Just 2 cameras to gain familiarity with the software and camera performance and was thinking of something like:

Cam 1: 4MP (or poss 4K) 2.x-1x.x Motor Focus (Dome) with mic and really good NV/StarVIs capability to cover the parking pad and enough resolution to help the police ID faces. Placed at ~10’ high & ~60ft distance (more is better) & ~90deg angle of viewing

Cam 2: 4K? 2.x-1x.x PTZ? (Dome or bullet) (with/without mic) and NV/StarVis(-like?) - to get a sense of how well I can see the road and a portion of the front yard (and possibly some of the neighbor’s yards) so I can scan that area when there’s been an incident (either me or within the neighborhood). Placed at ~20’ high & 20ft-~160ft distance & ~90-ish deg angle of viewing

Near-term (Yellow Zones):

One side-yard &

License plate reader

Google View of my house: (sent in EM)...

Longer-Term (not shown):

Units to cover each of the 5 entries, on deck, under deck, one in the garage, wide back & side yards…