Opinions wanted

mark4470

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to this hobby, and it is addicting. I'm looking for a higher end 4 channel Poe nvr system with two 4 or 5mp bullet cameras and two motorized 4 or 5mp bullets. I live out in the country and it is pitch black, so good night vision is very important to me. I have a rebranded Hikvision system now I'm not all that impressed with it. What would you all get?

PSPCommOp

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
On that type of budget, since you want great night vision invest in exterior IR illuminators so cheaper cameras get you better picture. I'd build the system around that, otherwise invest in a bunch of the low light heavyweights. That angle will def push you to the top of that budget range tho. Just something to consider.

smoothie

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I had just posted a thread not long ago about which was better, darkfighter/starlight or higher res cheaper cameras with external IR illuminators. The vast majority of people said higher res cams with external IR. You will probably want the 850nm IR illuminators which are the brightest from the camera perspective but have a faint red glow at the emitters. You might even consider adding those illuminators first and see how much better your current system performs with them. Once the illuminators are in place you can still replace your current cameras with new ones and the IR illuminators will benefit the new cams as well.

Personally I am a fan of the Dahua cameras. I would probably go with turrets instead of bullets for two reasons, I prefer the separate IR emitter lens so there is no bleeding into the primary cam lens and because you can get turrets with built in microphones. I figure why not add audio to the recording if you can.

These are the models I will be buying once I get around to completing my wiring project so I have the infrastructure to use IP cams: