Noob needs help with a train wreck

Reaction score
I just took a position at a large church. The previous tech guy purchased $5k worth of HIKvision NVR's and 35 Amcrest poe ip 4k cameras. He figured out how to configure the IP's for the camera, make the NVR see the cameras, and then he left.

The admin want to know why the cameras are not functioning correctly, and why I haven't fixed it yet. I have a series of questions. Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm new to all this so go easy.

1. I am considering selling the NVR's and buying Amcrest NVR's. I realize that HIKvision NVR is 64 channels and 80TB of space, and the Amcrest is only 16 port/32channel and 20TB a piece. My question about this is the current NVR is simply connected via cat6 which is connected through our fiber switches where the cameras are located around the buildings. With the Amcrest NVR, would I have to connect each camera physically or could I set it up with just one uplink to the switches where the cameras are?

2. If I have to stay with the setup I have, is there a 3rd party software where the two will play nice? The software from HIkvision is useless and the we browser has 0 functionality with the cameras. I can't set up presets nor can I choose which camera to view. It's either all of them or 1 of them.

3. I have most of my cameras up and running, but there are a few that are "Disconnected Not supported." Though they are assigned an ip, are reporting to the switch with power and have previously functioned normally. Is this a network limitation or is there something I'm missing with these cameras?

4. What's your opinion? Fight for new Amcrest NVR or new Hik cameras?

Thank you in advance. Really in over my head here.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score