Newbie network

HMay

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've spent a few of days reading many websites and forum posts and can't quite work this one out - could anyone help please?

I'm a relative network noob currently planning how to network a system (PoE cams connected to NVR), and I'm considering the following setup:

Wifi Modem/Router with VPN>Managed Switch(for VLAN)>NVR>Cams

Questions are:
1. To add laptops, phones etc to a second VLAN I'm guessing I would need a switch that can also pick up wireless devices/traffic, or do I need a router that provides capability for this?
3. If laptops etc connect to the router without sitting on a VLAN, could they compromise or be compromised by the stream to the internet from the NVR (via VLAN & VPN)?
3. Have I got this all a bit wrong?! (and do I even need both the VPN and VLAN?)

No tech has been bought yet - only have my ISP router which I'm imagining will be swapped out for sommething ASUS branded.

Thanks in advance.

DG99

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
You are better off using a dual nic setup, VLAN will require a router and managed switches that need to be configured. To do VLAN's correctly you would need a layer 3 switch to route vlans and not your router doing the routing,
I suggest you read the dual nic setup and VPN's on the WIKI at top of page.

HMay

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks very much for your reply. I was planning on an NVR box rather than PC, hence thinking about VLANs - I've just read through the Wiki and I take it this would rule out dual NIC (unless there is hardware that can do this)?

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Technically, and NVR does have two NICs. One IP range is used for the cameras, typically 10.x.x.x while the other is used to connect to the local LAN and is generally set for DHCP for easy connection and configuration.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score