New Setup (multiple locations)

brozium

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi guys, sorry if this is not the correct subforum to post this. And sorry for the long post, I'm new to this and I want to do it right.
I'm looking to upgrade an existing camera system for a relatively small business (it's a bar) with 2 locations. I've done my homework and I figured an Intel NUC with an i3-6100 (with QuickSync) would be enough for the server (120gb ssd) and an extra NAS for storage (Synology 2bay nas with WD Purple drives).
One of the locations has 4 existing low quality cameras that I would like to replace with new (DS-2CD2042WD-I) cameras 720p@20-25fps which I calculated would use around 15mbps bandwitdh (when streaming?) and around 1tb of storage for 7 days recording around 16 hours (the place is open from 11am-12pm/1am ish during weekdays and from 11am-3am on weekends) I wanted to use Blue Iris to only record during those times and use motion detection if something was detected during closed hours. I figure this would be enough to run those 4 cameras and even 8 using the existing low quality ones we already have.

The second location has, I think, around 8-10 cameras also low-quality, I would like to add 4 HD ones to the existing setup and maybe removing some of the existing ones. Would the same setup be ok for this (meaning the NUC+NAS)?

Would it be convenient to have 2 NUCs and only 1 NAS in one of the locations for storage, maybe using openVPN, or would it be to harsh on the network? Btw, I will also probably run a relatively simple MySql server on each of the NUCs but I don't think that would be too demanding.