New here!

Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Hello all!
Officially new here, but have been reading for some time, mostly appreciating how much thought and work everyone here puts into their security systems!
Currently building a new house and builder allowed to use 3rd party for pre-wire, so now in the planning stages where to place the cat wires.
Not sure how many cameras I need, as it can get very expensive quick from what I see haha!

While I am familiar with some terms and basic info please don't hate if I ask something totally obvious :D

P.S. if anyone done pre-wire and has some time for quick suggestions, let me know! Otherwise I'll continue browsing all the setup threads!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
4,149
Reaction score
8,221
Location
New Jersey
:welcome:

Welcome to the land of video surveillance lunatics, some more lunatic than others :lol:

As basic suggestions, make each drop for cameras a double to allow for installing another camera as painless as possible. Try to keep the mounting locations no higher than 7'6", 8' absolute maximum, to be able to identify who did what. Don't get caught in the megapixel trap, low light performance is far more important. Don't forget entry doors and have double drops installed at each. It's much easier to add cable and drops now than after the house is completed and the walls are closed up.

Three rules
Rule #1 - Cameras multiply like rabbits.
Rule #2 - Cameras are more addictive than drugs.
Rule #3 - You never have enough cameras.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
4,149
Reaction score
8,221
Location
New Jersey
An after thought - Remember that video is for surveillance.

A good alarm system is for detection and alerting appropriate authorities so pre-wire for an alarm system as well. Every door, every window, consider interior doors especially for areas that you might deem critical, interior motion detection and glass break detection. Remote keypads in appropriate locations, entries and sleeping areas.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
4,594
Reaction score
3,953
Location
Houston Tx
make sure your installer uses the correct cable Cat 5e or 6. Use only solid copper cable, AWG 23 or 24 ethernet wire. , no CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum). Check it before install, cut it , and scrape it. Make sure it is wired to the 568B standard.
If you have a garage, mount two cameras either side of the the garage door, no higher than the top of the door.
Plan on cameras inside the house in the public areas and in the nursey (if you are young enough for that :) )
For the front door, i have a wired doorbell camera, a camera pointing to the package drop area, a camera mounted on the overhang pointing back at the door also a camera inside pointing at the front door.

Pull all the wires to a central wiring closet. Make sure the closet has good ventilation (AC) and a ceiling light, and multiple electrical outlets.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
6,445
Hello all!
Officially new here, but have been reading for some time, mostly appreciating how much thought and work everyone here puts into their security systems!
Currently building a new house and builder allowed to use 3rd party for pre-wire, so now in the planning stages where to place the cat wires.
Not sure how many cameras I need, as it can get very expensive quick from what I see haha!

While I am familiar with some terms and basic info please don't hate if I ask something totally obvious :D

P.S. if anyone done pre-wire and has some time for quick suggestions, let me know! Otherwise I'll continue browsing all the setup threads!
Welcome @learningtocode42

See the cliff notes...

Over cable while you can... cheap to cable now...

Is the framing up already? or are you just in the start at this point?
 

gwminor48

Known around here
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
2,178
Reaction score
1,153
Location
Texas
Hello, welcome to the forum, glad to hear you have been doing some reading, there is a lot to absorb.
 

erieadams

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
9
Location
41121
make sure your installer uses the correct cable Cat 5e or 6. Use only solid copper cable, AWG 23 or 24 ethernet wire. , no CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum). Check it before install, cut it , and scrape it. Make sure it is wired to the 568B standard.
If you have a garage, mount two cameras either side of the the garage door, no higher than the top of the door.
Plan on cameras inside the house in the public areas and in the nursey (if you are young enough for that :) )
For the front door, i have a wired doorbell camera, a camera pointing to the package drop area, a camera mounted on the overhang pointing back at the door also a camera inside pointing at the front door.

Pull all the wires to a central wiring closet. Make sure the closet has good ventilation (AC) and a ceiling light, and multiple electrical outlets.
would it be ok to use cca cable for now and get solid copper in a few weeks only reason I ask is just got new nvr and new cameras and spent the full budget thought the camera's came with it but i read wrong but i do have a 1000ft box of cca cat 6 i can use for time being and when i get paid i can get the solid copper box for 150
 

erieadams

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
9
Location
41121
Don't use CCA cable at all. Return it and get solid copper.
can't return it ive had it for awhile i used to run cable from my router to living room router so it is already on hand just asking if i can get by for 2 weeks using that until i can get solid copper
 

erieadams

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
30
Reaction score
9
Location
41121
can't return it ive had it for awhile i used to run cable from my router to living room router so it is already on hand just asking if i can get by for 2 weeks using that until i can get solid copper
and my existing sytem is dvr coax cable
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
688
Reaction score
1,175
Location
I'm ok
Spend $30 and buy a CAT5 tester so you can prove the cables are correct!.

When they run the cable, check every one with your tester and make sure all 8 wires make it to the other end.
They tend to cut wires, break wires. Make sure they all work before the contractors leave.
Then check them all again before the dry wall guys leave. They tend to cut them where they go through the wall.
If they cut them, they have to pay the first guys to fix or rerun them.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Don't forget entry doors and have double drops installed at each. It's much easier to add cable and drops now than after the house is completed and the walls are closed up.
I would love to add as many as possible, with the issue being $$ for the cable. If I add a whole lot more wiring, perhaps the price will drop to $30 per wire or something like that.

make sure your installer uses the correct cable Cat 5e or 6. Use only solid copper cable, AWG 23 or 24 ethernet wire. , no CCA (Copper Clad Aluminum). Check it before install, cut it , and scrape it. Make sure it is wired to the 568B standard.
If you have a garage, mount two cameras either side of the the garage door, no higher than the top of the door.
Plan on cameras inside the house in the public areas and in the nursey (if you are young enough for that :) )
For the front door, i have a wired doorbell camera, a camera pointing to the package drop area, a camera mounted on the overhang pointing back at the door also a camera inside pointing at the front door.

Pull all the wires to a central wiring closet. Make sure the closet has good ventilation (AC) and a ceiling light, and multiple electrical outlets.
Thank you on the cable advice. Will definitely check with installer.
Yes on the garage. House is in the dead end on a cul de sac - still need two cameras on each side of the garage?
Front door will have a stone arch surrounding it. Not sure if installer will run cable there to look back at the front door?
Central location is planned in the basement, so should be good there.

Welcome @learningtocode42

See the cliff notes...

Over cable while you can... cheap to cable now...

Is the framing up already? or are you just in the start at this point?
Thank you. Been reading through cliffs.
How cheap is cheap to cable? I feel (or probably know at this point) that I am being waaaay overcharged, so hard to over cable with that in mind.
Framing will be going up in a few weeks or so, then plumbing, electrical, etc. That's when installer will come in, right before drywall is being put on. Unfortunately builder is strict on no work besides allowing 3rd party, so I'm in a disadvantage there, otherwise would have ran everything myself everywhere.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Spend $30 and buy a CAT5 tester so you can prove the cables are correct!.

When they run the cable, check every one with your tester and make sure all 8 wires make it to the other end.
They tend to cut wires, break wires. Make sure they all work before the contractors leave.
Then check them all again before the dry wall guys leave. They tend to cut them where they go through the wall.
If they cut them, they have to pay the first guys to fix or rerun them.
Thank you on the tester advice.
Drywall guys will just wall in the wires per builder's orders. The contractor who installs them will have to come back later and cut the wall to get them out in specified locations. It's rather rid but I don't have much pull.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
6,445
I would love to add as many as possible, with the issue being $$ for the cable. If I add a whole lot more wiring, perhaps the price will drop to $30 per wire or something like that.
Hi @learningtocode42

Right now cable is very affordable, as is copper cables for electrical lines.

Same with copper plumbing pipes.

Copper will go up in price in the future...

Once EVs pick up the price of copper will go up.

.. Unfortunately builder is strict on no work besides allowing 3rd party, so I'm in a disadvantage there, otherwise would have ran everything myself everywhere.
hmmm... notes to others: This should have been worked out at the start in the contract.

Seriously, accept the costs - run extra, even if you do not use most - it is so much more affordable now.

Start a new thread with the drawings, and mark placements of the cameras you think would work and ask for input.

This is a good place to post:

Also there should be others posting there, so if you feel more comfortable you can see what others have shared there.
 

samplenhold

Known around here
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
2,791
Reaction score
6,295
Location
Spring, Texas
How cheap is cheap to cable?
The point that others have made is, while the drywall is not yet up, the cost of running wires is RELATIVELY cheap, compared to running them after the house is finished and you have moved in. If they are charging $30/drop now, expect $150/drop after.

Take as many pictures of the walls/framing as you can. Keep them on your computer. Take the pics to understand how things are connected. When (not if) you need to run additional cable after you move in, those pics can help you understand how to get a wire where it is needed. If possible, get a copy of the framing blueprints. That will also help you run cable in the future.

I bought my house new, but it was almost totally finished when we first looked at it. Wish I had those photos now. It would have helped me in so many ways. See the post below to understand how once everything is covered by sheetrock and brick, it can be hard to figure a way to get cables where you need them.

 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
hmmm... notes to others: This should have been worked out at the start in the contract.
Seriously, accept the costs - run extra, even if you do not use most - it is so much more affordable now.
Start a new thread with the drawings, and mark placements of the cameras you think would work and ask for input.
This is a good place to post:
Also there should be others posting there, so if you feel more comfortable you can see what others have shared there.
That was the first thing I asked when signing a contract and was told a definite no, hah. In fact they only started allowing 3rd party to do it several years ago. Go figure.
I was reading through installation thread and jotting things down, although given my limited knowledge on which cameras are best still trying to figure out placements.
The neighborhood is in a rather calm area, so I don't anticipate much happening, but still better be prepared.
Let me draw up the location of how the house will be sitting as well as some pictures that I can find of similar houses and I will post it there.

The point that others have made is, while the drywall is not yet up, the cost of running wires is RELATIVELY cheap, compared to running them after the house is finished and you have moved in. If they are charging $30/drop now, expect $150/drop after.
Take as many pictures of the walls/framing as you can. Keep them on your computer. Take the pics to understand how things are connected. When (not if) you need to run additional cable after you move in, those pics can help you understand how to get a wire where it is needed. If possible, get a copy of the framing blueprints. That will also help you run cable in the future.
I bought my house new, but it was almost totally finished when we first looked at it. Wish I had those photos now. It would have helped me in so many ways. See the post below to understand how once everything is covered by sheetrock and brick, it can be hard to figure a way to get cables where you need them.
Fair enough on the relative aspect. Basement will remain unfinished for the time being, so I wonder if I can save some money and run some cables myself to the deck or to the garage. (or even have the contractor run one to the camera and then use that to pull extra cables there? Not sure if that's a good idea but just a thought.
Great advice on the pictures. Already planned for that with measurements, as well as video. I do have plans for some multimedia stuff and other home additions that will definitely require the use of those images.
Good write up on LPR - as I stated in the beginning, always impressed by the dedication!
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
6,445
..
Fair enough on the relative aspect. Basement will remain unfinished for the time being, so I wonder if I can save some money and run some cables myself to the deck or to the garage. (or even have the contractor run one to the camera and then use that to pull extra cables there? Not sure if that's a good idea but just a thought.
Great advice on the pictures. Already planned for that with measurements, as well as video. I do have plans for some multimedia stuff and other home additions that will definitely require the use of those images.
Good write up on LPR - as I stated in the beginning, always impressed by the dedication!
Hi Learningtocode42

Unfinished basements are great... if you plan to run cabling after the contractors are done:

Take a LOT of pictures.
Consider running "stumps" of conduit to critical areas ( example to the hard to reach corners of a roof, .. helps a lot when they put in a lot of insultation ... )
For the interior walls, you can do small pilot holes from the 1st floor down the the basement where you want to run interior cat6 for desktops / computers / tv / boxes. ( again this depends on how much they charge vs your time, .. ) ( for a drill bit I'd look for a nice long one, can be very small - and you can use a larger bit later from the basement up .. and drill before the drywallers come in, this way you can make a nice pilot hole to avoid any nails hopefully )

Run a couple of conduits from the attic to the basement for future pulls. ( perhaps a couple of 1" schedule 40 ? )
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
20
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Unfinished basements are great... if you plan to run cabling after the contractors are done:
Run a couple of conduits from the attic to the basement for future pulls. ( perhaps a couple of 1" schedule 40 ? )
I will certainly try to put conduits there, the only issue being whether they will raise questions as to why they are there. (as mentioned before, no personal work allowed)
edit: on the second thought, I will be painting most rooms anyway, so in theory shouldn't be an issue to cut the drywall and run it. I assume you are saying to, at the very least, pre-drill the holes for the conduit to be ran?
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
7,052
Reaction score
6,445
I will certainly try to put conduits there, the only issue being whether they will raise questions as to why they are there. (as mentioned before, no personal work allowed)
edit: on the second thought, I will be painting most rooms anyway, so in theory shouldn't be an issue to cut the drywall and run it. I assume you are saying to, at the very least, pre-drill the holes for the conduit to be ran?
Hi @learningtocode42

If those are the rules of the game - I would find a way to mark where you want to do your work.

Photos and tape measure.. document like crazy.

Then a long thin drill bit to make pilot holes.. if you clean it up, the builder may not notice the holes...

If you can afford it, of course you can paid the approved sub-contractor to do the work.

What is the outer walls construction?
 
Top