New Here - Looking for recommendations

Froglens

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello all,

Im pretty new to the IP security camera scene but I am a IT tech so that may help ;)

I have currently have 2 Reolinks 511Ws and a Amcrest ip4m-1026w plus 2x Eufy Cam2s.

The Reolink and Amcrest connect
To a Synology NAS.

TheAmcrest is for my front of the house and it is able to monitor the whole front but it constantly senses motion because lights reflecting from headlights at night on my cars, or the snow on the ground. Sun and shadows from clouds trigger it all the time. The same thing from the Reolinks, I have them pointing towards my house from my shed in the backyard. It covers two entry points on either side of my house. But the issue is the lights from inside my house when turned on and off at night trigger them. Also the same issue from Shadows from clouds and light changes.

I don’t have any issues with the Eufy Cams, but the other 3 are wrecking havoc on my sanity. I’ve played with all the settings, sensitivity, zones and well It seems these can’t be overcome with these models of Cameras.

I think I need to replace them and was wondering what would be a good setup for me.

The 3 three I have right now are all bullet cams, but I’ve seen some threads on the Turret style and the Dahua 5442 series might be a good choice?
They would also need to connect to my Synology NAS (I have 3 of them) and they would be set for continuous recording.

I just want these false alarms to stop due to these conditions.

Thank you I’m advance for those who take the time to answer.

ps I’m in Canada so -30 weather is not uncommon.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hello all,

Im pretty new to the IP security camera scene but I am a IT tech so that may help ;)

I have currently have 2 Reolinks 511Ws and a Amcrest ip4m-1026w plus 2x Eufy Cam2s.

The Reolink and Amcrest connect
To a Synology NAS.