Need NVR / Blue Iris setup w/ full duplex audio for Elder Care grandparents.

Offt

n3wb
Reaction score
I am being overloaded w/ trying to figure out systems and options
Help much appreciated - there's a ton going on here and I have no surveillance experience.
*Trying to get home ready to move grandparents back from assisted living which was completely unreliable to their needs. One has dementia and the other that was doing much for her when alone just had a stroke and recovering - this hampered any research I was doing for cameras. Despite stroke still moving them back home - so:

I need minimum 4 and 6 may be ideal cameras. At least 4 (better all if I get 5 or 6) w/ full-duplex audio. 4-5 indoor and maybe if I have 6 one would be outside on lanai.
Request for info and pricing from dahua / hikvision or any other forum suppliers that may be around.

I need flawless reliability to make sure there is full time observation and communication.
I'm also somewhat restrained by costs and ability to keep.
Would like 265/265+ - would like good quality video to have as a record for future any good moments to edit what's important to save. Good night vision image but very long distance not needed.
If 6th camera for outside (or even 5th camera as the outside and no 6th) better outside vision WDR, longer night vision for animals primarily might be nice and two way sound probably not needed for the outside camera)

Reaction score
Hikvision and Dahua 'cube' cameras (not really cubes, more like small, flat, rectangular boxes) are about $100 each right now. Amcrest PTZ 1080P HD are about $60 apiece. Blue Iris is about $50. Used Dell SFF PC for Blue Iris is about $300 on eBay. That being said, most IP cameras do NOT support full duplex audio. Instead, they use simplex 'push-to-talk' protocol.

Offt

n3wb
Reaction score
At the start of looking I was checking out the amcrest and reolink ptz then dismissed them both perhaps amcrest mistakenly.