Need help with finding best affordable NVR and camera package

Reaction score
Hey all, I am sure you have heard this all before but I need some help trying to find an affordable and user friendly NVR and cam package for home use. I just tried a Amcrest NV4108E and I am returning it because the user interface is a total POS and not at all friendly.

I am a network technician and I have seen and installed a few systems including Hikvision, Unifi, Amcrest, and Reolink. here are a few of my thoughts on these to maybe let you know where I am at and what I am looking for.

Unifi is great except for the proprietary aspect and cost. The interface is easy to use and updates are free. The cloud key 2 is easy to setup and has cloud access included. It only has 2TB drive space but that is easily replaceable and good enough for home. The camera prices have increased in the last couple years and a 4 camera system for my home would be @ $1200 or so.

My last home system was a ReoLink and it is fairly stable and worked well for me for 4 years. I just upgraded the firmware and lost the remote view ability. Remote view was always a bit buggy and slow and the cams were not great quality. I will say that that was a 4 yr old system. The interface was pretty straight forward once familiar with it.

The Hikvision I setup for my employer was just OK but I dont care for the interface as it is maybe a small step above the Amcrest. The price was just OK and the cameras are pretty decent

The Amcrest I just tried is terrible trying to setup and deal with the interface. The cams are OK quality and have a nice wide FOV but the firmware is outdated and the system is discontinued