Intro and project input request

radix

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello! Off and on lurker for years, first time poster. I am a novice programmer and hardware tinkerer hoping to get some input from those of you who are more experienced, knowledgeable, and skilled than I.

I have fiddled with mostly low-cost equipment for personal use for the past decade or so, and in recent months I've started to really dive into the industry. I'm sure that I've only touched the tip of the iceberg of what is available and possible, but I'm getting the impression that the state of the video surveillance industry is kind of a mess. I guess that is to be expected given the rapid pace of advancement, but I still don't feel satisfied with any of the various solutions that I know of.

What follows is my criteria for what I think would be the ideal surveillance system:

1. The camera hard/soft/firmware should be as open as possible. I'm thinking something like a RPi or similar SBC with camera module or usb cam. I know that we can already easily put together this combination to build a DIY IP camera which can be monitored by other software, but...

2. The camera should operate as a node in a cluster, no central server(s) should be necessary for recording or analysis (but still possible of course). Zoneminder is actually already really, really close to being this type of system. ZM will run on RPi, monitor its own local camera, record to its own local storage, and participate as a server in a multi-server configuration. Really the only missing piece is decentralized database, and as a "stretch goal" pooling and redundancy of storage. Also, development of ZM has been very active as of late, and they are making great strides in cpu and memory use. However...