iDMSS Failure to connect over cell service only

mch85

n3wb
Reaction score
Good day all,

I'm pretty new to the Dahua system, I just got it installed last month. So far I'm not sure what I've done wrong but I cannot connect using the iDMSS app when I'm on cell service.

When I'm on wifi, but not at home I can connect and see my cameras when I have my VPN connection ON. When no VPN I cannot see cameras on wifi away from home. This seems correct.

With VPN ON and using cell service, I cannot see the cameras. I just get "failed to connect".

Just seems odd, I can turn a hotspot on from my wife's phone, connect to it so then I have a "wifi" connection and then the cameras work just fine.

Yesterday I tried port forwarding the recommended ports, verified through the port checking website and they showed good but no change.

In iDMSS I'm connecting using IP/Domain with IP address of the camera, port 37777 then username/pw. I assume this is all correct for going through a VPN.

Hope someone has seen this issue before!

bababouy

Known around here
Reaction score
There may be a setting on your iPhone that is off. Maybe mobile networks is off or maybe something not letting you use that much data over a mobile network?

mch85

n3wb
Reaction score
I did a lot of research and found that it's a T-mobile issue, they use IPV6 and the openVPN on all Netgear routers does not support IPV6. So can't use VPN with Tmobile and netgear. At least on the official firmware.

I can open ports and connect just fine... just doesn't seem that safe.

Oz26

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi

I'm having same issue that I can't connect using my mobile data which is with virgin mobile Australia.

App works perfectly when connected through home wifi

What can be done to see it remotely again?

Probird79

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score