How to record location data on mobile LPR?

allthis

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

My question concerns setting up a mobile (vehicle-mounted) LPR system. I’m curious if anyone could share some insight on a simple way to record location data with plate reads on a mobile system running Openalpr. My setup is just an inexpensive Dahua IP camera connected to a laptop running Rekor Scout on Windows. I’m having no trouble getting good reads so I have the camera part all figured out. I just don’t have any idea how to integrate location data. Pardon my ignorance as I have no coding experience. If I bought a usb gps puck would there be a way to get it to record the location of plate reads? Or is there some simpler way of doing it I haven’t considered? I would be grateful if any of the fine people on this forum would be able to point me in the right direction. Thank you!

DLONG2

Known around here
Reaction score
Not clear how often you need to acquire GPS data, but in Google Maps on your mobile device, you can long-press on a map location, and then click on the "Share" icon, and then select the "Copy to Clipboard" option. Then paste it into an email you are composing or a OneNote, etc. It will only give you a URL for later navigating to the location in Google Maps later, though.

I also see that Google Maps will show the latitude and longitude of any selected location.

Okay, if you need only the lat/long, then in Google Maps, drop a pin, tap it, and in the area where you see the lat/long, tap it, and it gets copied to your clipboard.

Last edited:

DLONG2

Known around here
Reaction score