hikvision ds-2cd2232-i5 doesn't recognize local hard drive

Reaction score
I'm new to the IP camera scene and just purchased a hikvision ds-2cd2232-i5, I'm running PC IVMS 4200 so their is no NVR. one thing I noticed is in the camera settings it's not recognizing my PC's local hard drive. Does it expect to only use a NAS therefore needing IP network address?

Patrick

nambi

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I have the exact same issue, I installed a 2nd HD into my computer and the storage server now sees the 2nd drive. the storage server only sees the 2nd HD, I can format it configure it, but when I log into the cam itself I can't see it. The only way I can get the system to record right now is if I were to load up IVR4200 manually and hit the record button

If you find any tips please let me know.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
The storage available to IVMS-4200 (an application running locally on the PC hardware) and the network storage available to the DS-2CD2332-I5 camera (a different, separate device in its own right connected to the network) are not related.
The only way to get the camera to store data on the PC local hard drive is to create a network share and user account on the PC (which for Windows will nominally use the CIFS/SMB file-sharing protocol) and configure access to it using the 'Storage' menus of the camera. The camera can record to that share, quite independently of what IVMS-4200 can record to the PC hard disc.
I hope that makes sense.

Reaction score
Yes it does make sense. Once I set up the share the camera should see it. I thought my drive was already shared but I will look again maybe it was just folders.

nambi

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
That clarifies some of my issues. I'm using an i5 as my NVR now my confusion is do i use IVR4200 to record or do I setup recording individual on the camera when i log in.