Hikvision Camera Not saving to PC

ColdTech

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi there, I am new to the HikVision product. For testing purposes this ipcamera is setup without network access (similar to cctv). I am able to record motion footage schedule onto sd card (32Gig) but not directly to the pc. There is an option to record still shots of the motion, which I was able to save to the pc via FTP Server, however, not able to use the file server for video. The only other option I am seeing is the NAS. Am I missing something. Are the only available options the NAS or sd card?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi there, I am new to the HikVision product. For testing purposes this ipcamera is setup without network access (similar to cctv). I am able to record motion footage schedule onto sd card (32Gig) but not directly to the pc. There is an option to record still shots of the motion, which I was able to save to the pc via FTP Server, however, not able to use the file server for video. The only other option I am seeing is the NAS. Am I missing something. Are the only available options the NAS or sd card?
you cannot ftp video with the hikvision...you should be using a proper recording device, nvr or vms.

ColdTech

n3wb
Reaction score
I have the Hik ivms 2400 installed on a pc but the only option given is the NAS or SDCard. Do you know of a different vms that would allow me to save to pc?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I have the Hik ivms 2400 installed on a pc but the only option given is the NAS or SDCard. Do you know of a different vms that would allow me to save to pc?
ivms will allow you to save to pc...but there are much better options.
Milestone is free for up to 8 cams. Blue iris is 60 dollars and fantastic, its what many here use including myself.

ColdTech

n3wb
Reaction score