Hi All, Advice would be much appreciated!

ozzywadd

n3wb
Reaction score
In short...

I have a need for a camera system that will allow me to programmatically tell the camera to start recording, stop and save to file to be referenced in the future if needed. This is to record every instance of a manual task for quality assurance.

Ideally, this would work with some kind of network cameras and a simple API to communicate with.

Can anybody recommend anything or maybe what I need to be looking for?

Thanks in advance.
Austin

ozzywadd

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the link.

I'm still not entirely sure which product is right for my requirement. I'm a developer with no experience in developing camera systems. I need an affordable product that I can simply interact with via a simple API over a network.

This is literally to do the following: "tell the camera to start recording, stop and save to file to be referenced in the future if needed"

I really wasn't expecting it to be so hard to find a product that I can interact with like this.

Cheers,
Austin

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I have a need for a camera system that will allow me to programmatically tell the camera to start recording, stop and save to file to be referenced in the future if needed. This is to record every instance of a manual task for quality assurance.
Presumably what you are actually looking for is not so much a camera to control as a piece of recording software to activate / deactivate?
After all, where would a camera be recording to but an external system that accepts the video stream and either saves it or ignores it?
Almost any camera will generate an RTSP stream that a recording system can request, so the camera is almost secondary.
In my view.

*edit*
Any mileage in the VLC HTTP command facilities described here :
VLC HTTP requests - VideoLAN Wiki

Last edited:

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
In short...