Hello, new here.

avspin

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi I'm Steve from Reno, NV
I've been using Q-see for a about 6 years now. I upgraded my system to 4k IP about 2 years ago. I ran cat 5e all over. Currently Q-see has announce it's going out of business Jan 31st and saying if I want to view my cameras remotely I have to turn on DMZ for the IP of the NVR. I'm not all that comfortable with that and looking for new options.
My cameras, QCN8093B are pretty good as far as the specs and would love to keep using them.
I build computers as a hobby and have a bunch of gaming computers sitting here unused and from reading through the wiki I have some questions.
Can I just plug the 16x cameras into my 16 port POE switch then into a computer with Blue Iris software?
Or buy a new NVR
*** The most important question is will the Q-see cameras work? They are pretty expensive and I'm trying to keep cost down. 8MP, H 131Deg V 111Deg, 160ft nigh vision.

This site has a lot of info and I've been reading through the posts but could not find a beginners guide with basic info such as this, unless I missed it in the wiki.

Thanks!!!!!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi I'm Steve from Reno, NV
I've been using Q-see for a about 6 years now. I upgraded my system to 4k IP about 2 years ago. I ran cat 5e all over. Currently Q-see has announce it's going out of business Jan 31st and saying if I want to view my cameras remotely I have to turn on DMZ for the IP of the NVR. I'm not all that comfortable with that and looking for new options.
My cameras, QCN8093B are pretty good as far as the specs and would love to keep using them.
I build computers as a hobby and have a bunch of gaming computers sitting here unused and from reading through the wiki I have some questions.
Can I just plug the 16x cameras into my 16 port POE switch then into a computer with Blue Iris software?
Or buy a new NVR