Giving up: Just want a true PoE DB Cam...

Reaction score
... for under $200US.

After a couple of years of looking/waiting for a DB cam I'm seriously on the verge of giving up.

We had an extension put on to the back of the house and I pre-wired Cat6 for security cams and even ran a line specifically for a DB cam. Granted, I didn't do the due diligence prior (I had a much bigger project to deal with) and assumed I could find a decently priced PoE DB cam that didn't require a PoE injector.

I was apparently wrong.

I may have to just go with a wireless DB cam until something comes along. I'm no expert in the security camera game but I am perplexed why a quality residential, true PoE DB cam costs come in around the 400-800 range. I would have thought by now the gap would have been identified and leveraged!

It may be that my ignorance is limiting my understanding or I'm completely missing out on one that already exists. I've poked around on this site and the consensus seems to be that one still does not exist.

Please, if anyone knows of a quality true PoE DB cam (doesn't require a PoE injector) for around $200US, I'd love to hear about it. My wife is starting to yell at me because there is a green Cat6 cable hanging outside of our new brick wall.

Reaction score
I feel your pain. But at same time, I understand that camera manufactures realize that 98% of residential folks in need of a doorbell+camera seek a wireless option, not hardwired. The higher priced doorbell+camera models are more geared towards a business (think backdoor of a warehouse) or a secured civil govt setting (think police station). There are rare folks who actually hardwire their cameras in an existing home (like myself) or totally pre-wire a house in new construction. I do not think (in a business sense) that justifies the R&D into a cheaper residential hardwire doorbell+camera model so that is why you only see wireless options. In my opinion, of course :)