Diary of a Dericam S2 madman

WooHoo4me

n3wb
Reaction score
My first post for help here...
I'm a bit new to IP camera internals so please forgive my ignorance.
I have a Dericam S2-32G I bought about 5 years ago -for my mom's house.

I ended up owning it, and it has been a good PTZ camera. Then about 2 years ago it's pan/tilt quit working.
On power-up it runs its normal pan/tilt/zoom sweeps as it initializes, but then the only thing that works
on command is optical ZOOM and autofocus.
Inside, the servos are in like-new condition and the gearing still has clean fish grease.
I have reason to suspect the problem is controller firmware NOT hardware since the thing will pan/tilt
and zoom upon initialization.

I run Blue Iris 5 (been using BI since V3) and the Dericam client, and ODM, but none of these cause
the camera to respond [via wifi or ethernet] to pan or tilt commands, so I have reason to believe that
just a firmware reprogram may cause the cam to re-awaken and allow for use as an intended PTZ imager.
Numerous hard resets and factory defaults did not correct. I have yet to try telnet or my bus pirate...

At one time I had a network IP address conflict that caused two of my PTZ cams to quit pan/tilt, but once
resolved the problem went away. Such has not been the case with this dericam.

Yeah, I know some of you have low regard for dericam...me too, but I've been inside several cameras and the
dericam is flimsy plastic and moderately funky electronics in comparison. On a 1-10 scale I give it a 4.
Anyway, I have it and it has reasonably good imagery and it's sacrificial free to play with.

I have been in contact with dericam and their response is typical of the far east biz. <knuckleheads>
So, I'm left with a learning curve.
Does GitHub have anything open-source for the HI3516?

This model S2 Dericam uses the HI3516 CRBCV200 (CV200) SOC mounted to pcb 16VC2_38M_2.0
The pan/tilt servos are 5 volt Maintex 24byj 20 and 28
Imager: IMX323
PTZ controller: PTZ_12V_V1.2