Dahua HDBW4431R-ZS cannot connect...

protocol57

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
25
Reaction score
12
Hi guys, I'm hoping maybe yous can help me...

So this weekend I took my first plunge into the world of PoE ip cams. I bought some cat 6 cable and almost broke my back pulling it from my basement all the way to my attic where I'll be putting a PoE switch and hopefully a few high-quality IP cams to monitor around the house.

It was all set and ready and so I finally unboxed the camera and connected to the PoE switch and then... nothing. It's a Dahua 4MP IPC-HDBW4431R-ZS dome-style camera, I got from ebay. So once I connect it to the PoE cable, the IR LEDs light up for a bit, and the camera seems to show up on my router's DHCP client list as 192.168.1.108 (which is the standard IP for Dahua IPC IIRC) however I cannot reach the camera at all via the web interface (IE browser) and after a few minutes, the camera seems to disappear from my list of connected DHCP clients. I'm not sure that to do, since I'm not as familiar with Dahua network cams, and I can't seem to find any data on this specific model. From some other similar camera datasheets/manuals I find that 192.168.1.108:37777 is where I would be pointing my web browser on my LAN, but I still can't get anything to show up and the browser always times out.

I have tested that it's not the PoE switch nor the my cable crimping that's the problem. Connecting the camera using factory made patch Cat6 yields the same result. ATM, I just wanna use a PC as an "NVR" so I don't have an NVR.

Can someone point me in the right direction with this camera?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,472
Reaction score
14,929
Hi guys, I'm hoping maybe yous can help me...

So this weekend I took my first plunge into the world of PoE ip cams. I bought some cat 6 cable and almost broke my back pulling it from my basement all the way to my attic where I'll be putting a PoE switch and hopefully a few high-quality IP cams to monitor around the house.

It was all set and ready and so I finally unboxed the camera and connected to the PoE switch and then... nothing. It's a Dahua 4MP IPC-HDBW4431R-ZS dome-style camera, I got from ebay. So once I connect it to the PoE cable, the IR LEDs light up for a bit, and the camera seems to show up on my router's DHCP client list as 192.168.1.108 (which is the standard IP for Dahua IPC IIRC) however I cannot reach the camera at all via the web interface (IE browser) and after a few minutes, the camera seems to disappear from my list of connected DHCP clients. I'm not sure that to do, since I'm not as familiar with Dahua network cams, and I can't seem to find any data on this specific model. From some other similar camera datasheets/manuals I find that 192.168.1.108:37777 is where I would be pointing my web browser on my LAN, but I still can't get anything to show up and the browser always times out.

I have tested that it's not the PoE switch nor the my cable crimping that's the problem. Connecting the camera using factory made patch Cat6 yields the same result. ATM, I just wanna use a PC as an "NVR" so I don't have an NVR.

Can someone point me in the right direction with this camera?
likely your network is not on the same subnet as the camera...what is your routers ip address?
there are threads that discuss how to fix this by changing the ipv4 address on your pc...also some versions of the dahua config tool allow this as well...there is a link to it posted in a recent thread.
 

protocol57

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
25
Reaction score
12
My router's gateway is at the standard 192.168.1.1, and LAN range/DHCP from 192.168.1.11 onwards.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,472
Reaction score
14,929
My router's gateway is at the standard 192.168.1.1, and LAN range/DHCP from 192.168.1.11 onwards.
you should be using 192.168.1.108 port 80 dont add any port numbers...try the dahua config tool..
also in the future avoid china region dahua cameras..
 

Crazykiller

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
544
Reaction score
317
Location
Germany
Hi guys, I'm hoping maybe yous can help me...

So this weekend I took my first plunge into the world of PoE ip cams. I bought some cat 6 cable and almost broke my back pulling it from my basement all the way to my attic where I'll be putting a PoE switch and hopefully a few high-quality IP cams to monitor around the house.

It was all set and ready and so I finally unboxed the camera and connected to the PoE switch and then... nothing. It's a Dahua 4MP IPC-HDBW4431R-ZS dome-style camera, I got from ebay. So once I connect it to the PoE cable, the IR LEDs light up for a bit, and the camera seems to show up on my router's DHCP client list as 192.168.1.108 (which is the standard IP for Dahua IPC IIRC) however I cannot reach the camera at all via the web interface (IE browser) and after a few minutes, the camera seems to disappear from my list of connected DHCP clients. I'm not sure that to do, since I'm not as familiar with Dahua network cams, and I can't seem to find any data on this specific model. From some other similar camera datasheets/manuals I find that 192.168.1.108:37777 is where I would be pointing my web browser on my LAN, but I still can't get anything to show up and the browser always times out.

I have tested that it's not the PoE switch nor the my cable crimping that's the problem. Connecting the camera using factory made patch Cat6 yields the same result. ATM, I just wanna use a PC as an "NVR" so I don't have an NVR.

Can someone point me in the right direction with this camera?
Maybe you got a bad patched Chinese domestic camera. Watch your cam after connecting it to the power (PoE or a power supply for testing) for a while. Maybe it falls in a reboot loop. You will see this as the IR lights will flash again after a while (next boot). This would explain that you could see it in the network for a short term.
I had the same issue with mine and did a reset with the reset button inside the cam which brought it back and reachable with the default IP address.
 

protocol57

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
25
Reaction score
12
Maybe you got a bad patched Chinese domestic camera. Watch your cam after connecting it to the power (PoE or a power supply for testing) for a while. Maybe it falls in a reboot loop. You will see this as the IR lights will flash again after a while (next boot). This would explain that you could see it in the network for a short term.
I had the same issue with mine and did a reset with the reset button inside the cam which brought it back and reachable with the default IP address.
Yeah a badly patched might be the case... I'll plug in the camera and watch it carefully to see if the IR comes on and off multiple times, it didn't *look* like a bootloop to me on first glance, but that could be the case.
It is easy to reflash these? How would I do it given that I can't even access it via LAN?
 

Crazykiller

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
544
Reaction score
317
Location
Germany
Yeah a badly patched might be the case... I'll plug in the camera and watch it carefully to see if the IR comes on and off multiple times, it didn't *look* like a bootloop to me on first glance, but that could be the case.
It is easy to reflash these? How would I do it given that I can't even access it via LAN?
For me the reset switch did the trick. If you are able to control the cam via WebUI you could upload new firmware. Cor35vet did me one for this cam which works almost fine.
 

protocol57

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
25
Reaction score
12
Cor35vet did me one for this cam which works almost fine
What? You mean to say that Cor35vet wrote custom firmware for your Dahua camera?

Anyhow, was finally able to get it working. Danke! The camera wasn't bootlooping, it was booting but something was messing up it's networking or causing it to freeze.
So I did what you suggested and held the reset button for a about 3 seconds while it was powered, and the camera reset and then it booted up with no problem.
Everything started started working and with english firmware still (didn't default back to chinese or something)...which is good.

I have a pretty unusual setup I'm trying to achieve. Basically I'm attempting to use a Raspberry 3 running motionEyeOS, to act as an quasi-NVR, and that Rpi is connected to the PoE switch that's in my attic, which is where all my PoE cameras will connect to, I'm planning to have at least 4 PoE cameras from there to cover all 4 sides of my house. Inside the house I have a few cheaper wireless IP cams strategically placed to capture faces in case of a break in.
The motionEyeOS is quite customizable and you set it to record/snap/FTP/email etc... I'm hoping I can learn to use openCV with this so that I can program it to send notifications if familiar faces arrive or leave the house.
I'm thinking of attaching a USB hardrive to the Rpi so that the SD card doesn't wear out prematurely due to the constant data writes. Plus, SD card is only 32GB!!

Anyways, thanks for the tips. I'll post an update once I get further ahead with this little project. Maybe it'll help someone like who likes to try doing things low budget, and hackable!
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,472
Reaction score
14,929
You're probably right to say avoid china region ones... But can you get international ones at a good price? I got this baby for 80 bucks!?
yes.....look around...what good is the 20 dollar savings if it gives you issues and you cannot upgrade the firmware...
 

Crazykiller

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
544
Reaction score
317
Location
Germany
What? You mean to say that Cor35vet wrote custom firmware for your Dahua camera?!
Yep, I got the Chinese file from the seller and Cor35vet did the firmware mod to get it in English with some additional mods. And it runs more stable then the one it came with.
 

marigo

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
137
Reaction score
47
Location
Netherlands
Yep, I got the Chinese file from the seller and Cor35vet did the firmware mod to get it in English with some additional mods. And it runs more stable then the one it came with.
Hi Crazykiller,

Can you share the original (Chinese) firmware of this camera?
I cannot find the Chinese firmware of the HDBW4431R-ZS.
 

Crazykiller

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
544
Reaction score
317
Location
Germany
Hi Crazykiller,

Can you share the original (Chinese) firmware of this camera?
I cannot find the Chinese firmware of the HDBW4431R-ZS.
To be honest, I'm not sure if I still have this file. I've got a build.bin in that folder, but it differs a lot in the Megabytes with the one I've got from @cor35vet. Maybe you could ask him if he still has the file.
 

marigo

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
137
Reaction score
47
Location
Netherlands
Ok, thanks. I will ask corvet35 if he still has this original file.
 
Top