Cameras through windows. Temporary Ghetto Rental install.

Chukah

n3wb
Reaction score
Noob here about to move to a ghetto rental downtown. I can see Tweakers in the park next to the house from my dinning room window 50ft away over the fence. Luckily I have a long driveway and I am behind another house.

Is setting up a blue iris system and getting 1-2 of the nice popular outdoor poe AI cameras reasonable if I install them inside the house. Id mount on shelves attached too a window and point them through windows for front driveway and rear deck with exterior lighting.

I'm trying to avoid drilling into my rental unit eves/exterior and avoid doing cable runs while still future proofing my long term security build out. It would be a temporary solution until I buy a house in 1-3 years and I may move rental in 1 yr to another rental depending on the real estate market. Or should I just get shitty ring cameras/subscription for now while I'm renting.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The problem is these cameras need a lot of light to be in color at night. Infrared behind a window is a bad combination. Even in color you get glare and other issues. If you can place it right up against the window and box around it to not allow reflections, it may work.

Chukah

n3wb
Reaction score
Infrared behind a window is a bad combination. Even in color you get glare and other issues. If you can place it right up against the window and box around it to not allow reflections, it may work.
Good idea on the boxing out interior lighting. I was planning on turning off IR lights / flood lights to prevent glare and focusing on exterior lighting.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
Maybe you can put a fake bird house on a short pole or a fake rock/ or intoxicated gnome/ sleeping crackhead/ in a garden/landscape area. Then try to squeak an ethernet cable back into the house some how? Yeah your in a tough situation renting.