Camera setup for House - suggestion

Flerken

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello guys,

I would like to install cameras on house, because number of burglaries is increasing. But I am totally new in this. Can you please help me?

Here is the plan:
1614629015899.png

I decided to use 4MP Turret ColorVu series from Hikvision - DS-2CD2347G2-LU which has 2.8/4/6mm fixed lens.
  • Camera 1 (green) : 2.8mm, installation height approx 3.7m, distance 16m
  • Camera 2 (red): 4mm, installation height approx 3.7m distance, 14m
  • Camera 3 (blue): 2.8mm,installation height approx 3m, distance 14m
Everything will go to Synology DS220+ (2x6TB) in RAID. First of all, I have checked compatibility list from Synology but there is not 2CD2347 2nd gen, only G1. Will it work? Or could be there some issue?
And main question...is this setup ok? Can I do something better?

Thank you very much for any advice!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You are picking the wrong cameras for what you are trying to capture. 3.7 meters high will get you tops of heads and hoodies and 16meters distance will let you know something happened, but not who did it. Needs to be like 2 meters high and no more than 3-4m for a 2.8mm camera.

You need to pick the right camera for the location you are trying to capture images of. A 2.8mm lens is the wrong camera to identify people 14 meters away. A 32mm lens is the wrong camera trying to ID someone 2 meters away. Both cameras are great, but used in the wrong location results in not capturing what you want to identify.

Take a look at this chart - to identify someone with the 2.8mm lens popular someone would have to be within 3-4 meters of the camera.

1604638118196.png