Axton PoE Illuminator review

biggen

Known around here
Reaction score
I've been running a LPR cam for a few months now and have been extremely happy with it. Daytime plate recognition is damn near 100%. However, night time recognition was much lower. I was getting < 75% plate recognition at night. I shoot out to about ~115 feet using a 5241-Z12. What I've found is that plate reflection quality varies wildly. Even if a plate that reads perfectly well during the daytime it can be nearly invisible at night using the built-in IR illuminators of the camera itself. Even the tag on my vehicle which is in good shape, doesn't show up at night on my cameras for some reason.

So I decided to check around and see what IR illuminators were on the market that may be more powerful than the camera's illuminators. I came across Axton Tech. They have an absolute plethora of IR products that can be powered all kinds of different ways and have small to massive coverage ranges. They are a USA based outfit that builds all their products in the USA. I called them up and spoke to an engineer at length about the issue and explained the distances involved and what I was trying to accomplish. I told him I really only wanted a PoE model illuminator and wanted the smallest one that would be able to do the job. Because I'm nearly fully zoomed with my Z12 at ~110', the width of coverage is also quite narrow. Below is an example of my horizontal FOV which is less than one full car length:

LPR Cam 2021-02-21 09.05.21.936 AM.jpg